Curriculum Plans

 The curriculum at Saint Augustine Webster is carefully planned to meet the needs of the curriculum guidelines for the Early Years Foundation Stage and the National Curriculum.  We aim to teach our curriclulum in an engaging, interesting and stimulating way, primarily through a thematic approach.

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

At Saint Augustine Webster CVA, the Early Years Foundation Stage encompasses the Nursery and Reception classes.  The Early Years Foundation Stage is about developing key learning skills such as listening, speaking, concentration, persistence and learning to co-operate with other children.  We also work to develop early communication, literacy and numeracy skills that will prepare children for Key Stage 1 of the National Curriculum.

The curriculum of the Early Years Foundation Stage is organised into seven areas of learning:-

  1. Personal, social and emotional development
  2. Communication and language development
  3. Mathematical development
  4. Understanding of the world
  5. Physical development
  6. Expressive arts and design
  7. Literacy

Each area of the curriculum has Early Learning Goals, which establish expectations for children to reach by the end of the Early Years Foundation Stage.  Learning at this stage is play based, with highly focused learning objectives to match.

Curriculum Plans

Below are links to each year group's long term plans for the year:

Year 1

Year 2

Year 3

Year 4

Year 5

Year 6